search plug-in to enhance searching

search plug-in to enhance searching

Pierce KrousePierce Krouse Posts: 40Questions: 8Answers: 1

I am still pretty new to datatables, and I need to enhance the search capability for my application.
I have read the page at https://datatables.net/manual/plug-ins/search, and it looks doable to me, but I wanted to make sure this is the right direction to go.

Right now I have some cells in my table that are just text data, and of course the search function works for those cells.

Other cells, however, have a table in them holding several rows of text. Would I be able to create a plug-in that drilled down into searchData, picked apart the tables in cells, if present, and return true or false according to what is there?

This looks like the right approach, but I thought I would ask first.

Also, if someone here has already done something similar, I would love to look at the plug-in.

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• jLinuxjLinux Posts: 981Questions: 73Answers: 75

So you have cells that have other tables within them? Are they datatables or just tables?

And that would work just fine, you can make a plugin to do anything, as long as you can code it.

However, if you dont care which row/cell youre matching within the sub-table, i think the normal search would work just fine... have you tried it?

• allanallan Posts: 61,446Questions: 1Answers: 10,054 Site admin

Agreed - the host DataTable won't do anything with the sub-tables, so if you want them to be updated, that would need to be coded into your search.

I'm not aware of any existing public code that does exactly what you describe.

Allan

• Pierce KrousePierce Krouse Posts: 40Questions: 8Answers: 1