How are you using DataTables?

How are you using DataTables?

allanallan Posts: 61,436Questions: 1Answers: 10,049 Site admin
edited May 2009 in Free community support
Hello all,

I thought it might be interesting for people to share how they are making use of DataTables (thanks for the idea Wim). Eventually I'll put together a gallery page on the site (sometime after 1.5's unit tests are complete) but for now, perhaps you would like to share links to examples of where you are using DataTables (or screenshots if you prefer). If you can't host the screenshots, drop me a message ( www.datatables.net/contact ) and I'll put them up here.

It would be great to see how DataTables is being used, and perhaps we can all share ideas for future deployments and the core development of DataTables going forwards.

Regards,
Allan

Replies

• johnmcjohnmc Posts: 6Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Heck, I am a newbie I'll go first.

Catalogs/pricebook:

Sales staff in most cases do not need the fancy web-like catalogs the consumers need. All they want is description, SKU, unit qty and unit pricing. Its data that does not change that much.

So rather than have a multitude of hits from staff on the servers for pricing a page is formatted to the dataTable specification. Staff is provided that page template, the .js file, and a modified .css file as a zip. A JSON file is provided as needed for updates emailed to them. The user only has to copy the JSON file in the same directory they have the other files.

We have trialed it with 5 staff and they love not having to be tethered to the network to develop a preliminary estimate for customers.
  • SellesSelles Posts: 32Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Hi Allan,

Here are some screen shots of how I use dataTables.

I'm also a newbie to Javascript and JQUERY. I found this plug-in and used it in my on-line file-explorer. The explorer isn't finished yet, so don't look at the lay-out ;-)

http://www.familieselles.nl/usage_of_dataTables.gif

Usage: