fnLengthChange() changes the value of all my select fields

fnLengthChange() changes the value of all my select fields

SamMSamM Posts: 2Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited March 2011 in Plug-ins
Hi,

First of all, I would like to thank you for this lovely piece of coding. I'm using the code in my project at school after I was getting sick of the problems with tablesorter. This piece of code is soo much better, you rock dude.

Back to my question:
I am using the fnLengthChange plugin from your page. It works very well except that when I call the function, it will change the values in all of my select fields. I'm rather new to jQuery so I'm not really into the debugging of these big coding projects yet.

As far as I managed to trace it, the error is in this line:
[code]
$('select', oSettings.oFeatures.l).val( iDisplay );
[/code]
If I place this line in comment, then I do not have the error on my webpage. But I'm not able to trace this any further because I do not now how jQuery handles this selector with a comma and a variable. I've also checked the value of "oSettings.oFeatures.l" and it is undefined. I did a search in your jQuery file for "oFeatures.l" but couldn't find it. So I think that this plugin has a small bug there.

Could you please help me to solve this.

I hope my explanation is clear. If not, please tell my what other information you need.

Kind regards

Replies

• SamMSamM Posts: 2Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Is there anyone who knows a solution to this.

Thank you very much.
  • espringerespringer Posts: 2Questions: 0Answers: 0
    The same thing was occurring in my code: all the select dropdowns were having their selected values cleared out by this line of code. The solution was to change the line above to specifically call the select dropdown in question (the dropdown containing the number of results to show.)

First you need the ID of the div that contains your datatable. I used the Firefox Firebug plugin to find the div being populated. In my code: