Search for Formatted / Derived Value on Server Side Search ?

Search for Formatted / Derived Value on Server Side Search ?

sscottisscotti Posts: 1Questions: 1Answers: 0

I'm just getting started with using Data tables using the composer packages. I've used the Laravel ones, but now also trying these. I'm using server side processing for display purposes, and I'll probably want to try using the Editor later on. Anyways, wondering if there is a way to search for a formatted or "derived" value, or if one can perform JOINS or other more complex DB operations in the server side script.

As an example, I have this in my PHP script:

$table = 'referring_physician';
        // Table's primary key
        $primaryKey = 'id';

$columns = array(
        array( 'db' => 'id', 'dt' => "id" ),
        array( 'db' => 'identifier',  'dt' => 'identifier' ),
        array(
            'db'        => 'lname',
            'dt'        => 'name',
            'formatter' => function( $d, $row ) {
                return $row['lname'] . ', ' . $row['fname'] ;
            }
        ),
        array( 'db' => 'mobile_phone',     'dt' => 'mobile_phone' ),
        array( 'db' => 'email',     'dt' => 'email' ),

array(
            'db'        => 'specialty',
            'dt'        => 'specialty',
            'formatter' => function( $d, $row ) {
                $nicename = DatabaseFactory::SelectByQuery('SELECT specialty from specialties WHERE cmscode = ?', [$d])->fetch(PDO::FETCH_OBJ);
                $nicename = ($nicename !== false)?$nicename->specialty:"NOT SET";
                return $nicename;
            }
        ),

. . . . . .