DataTables Security

DataTables Security

cssnoobcssnoob Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited June 2021 in General

Hi everyone,

I am very new to javascript, html, and datatables. I applied this this datatable verbatim to my HTML table successfully.

After reviewing the Security page, I just want to make sure of a few points.
* Unless something external breaks through my organization's firewall, will the data within the table being displayed remain safe?
* I don't have admin privileges to my my machine, and my browser settings are set to strict. Should I avoid a particular browser? My organization uses Edge, Chrome and Internet Explorer.
* Other than implementing the above data table code and scripts, is there anything else I should do?

Edit: I forgot to add - the page will be displayed locally only, not on some server. But I still have internet access.

Thanks,
cssnoob

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,446Questions: 1Answers: 10,054 Site admin

Unless something external breaks through my organization's firewall, will the data within the table being displayed remain safe?

It depends what you mean by safe here. If you don't want anyone else to be able to view the data, that you would need to prevent the page the table is on from being visible on the web (DataTables doesn't "call home" if that is what you are asking).

But if someone had access to view the page, they would be able to view (and scrape) the data.

I don't have admin privileges to my my machine, and my browser settings are set to strict. Should I avoid a particular browser? My organization uses Edge, Chrome and Internet Explorer.

IE is no longer supported by Microsoft, so any security vulnerabilities found in it, will not be patched by Microsoft. So I would suggest not using IE for this point alone, but that will be down to a company IT decision.

DataTables itself will work fine on those browsers and doesn't trigger any security issues in them.