hidden columns, handling tab from editable

hidden columns, handling tab from editable

keturnketurn Posts: 18Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited August 2010 in KeyTable
Hey, I've been using DataTables for a few months now, and I'm finally turning my attention to KeyTable. I've identified a few issues I'll need to fix:

1) I'm hiding some columns with CSS. KeyTable doesn't know about that and will let me navigate to hidden columns.

2) In the KeyTable + jeditable demo at http://datatables.net/release-datatables/extras/KeyTable/editing.html , when you are editing a cell and you hit "tab", it follows the document tabindex out of the table entirely (since keycapture is off during editing).

I'll be putting some time in to this over the next week and hopefully I can address these and contribute patches back, but I thought I'd let you know here and see if you had any plans for these or other input.

Also, if I am patching KeyTable, do you have a version control system I should base off of, or just the releases?

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,446Questions: 1Answers: 10,054 Site admin
    Hi keturn,

Thanks for the feedback!

1. This is sort of intentional - is there any reason why you aren't using the column visibility options in DataTables? They will remove the elements from the live DOM, and thus not be a problem. However, the view I took with this bit was that if the element is in the DOM it should be treated as such, without needed to do a 'check visibility' look up on every focus.

2. Good point! It might need a preventDefault in there...

There is a repository for KeyTable here, which you can fork and work with if you like: http://github.com/DataTables/KeyTable . Based on your other thread, it sounds like KeyTable will need major new revision at some point, so the current release series will mainly be a bug fix one.

Regards,
    Allan
  • keturnketurn Posts: 18Questions: 0Answers: 0